Futures past.

As a kid, what did I want to be when I grew up? How close or far am I from that vision?

What I wanted to be?

A teacher…

Dearest mom was one and what nobler path to thread than hers? What greater inspiration for a life career than hers?

Teacher are pretty, graceful, knowledgeable, patiently imparting the much needed knowledge into the future leaders entrusted into their care.

Teachers are compassionate, often not rewarded enough for their labors but not to worry…the great reward awaits in heaven.

I would be a pretty little teacher shaping lives while cruising in my Volkswagen beetle. No offense, mom. (that beetle was equivalent to Hummer jeep in my young eyes)

…then a Banker.

She would stroll by every morning impeccably dressed in pretty ‘rainbowy’ clothes.

She’s without spot or blemish in an eight year old’s mind. The clothes would match her shoes, every little detail well coordinated…down to the umbrella shielding her pretty head from the rains and rays.

Oh, what a noble profession to aspire to?

I would become a banker and have all the pretty clothes in the world.

…then a medical doctor.

Gazing up at the nice and sweet white clad young man tending my bandaged left eye got me hooked.

Doctors are always impeccably dressed, nice, knowledgeable and professional. The fact that my ‘nice and sweet white clad young man’ was altogether handsome got me totally enraptured with the clinical discipline.

What other profession commands respect as much as the white-clad clan? Never mind that we have blue-clad and green-clad and all sorts of clad doctors now.

I would also have the bonus of being the savior of the universe.

A medical doctor, wearing white all day long I would be.

….then a writer.

I love me all the writers series from mom’s library.

So rich and so captivating in all their story telling.

What a legacy to bestow upon mankind, leaving forever words inscribed on marble hearts.

A writer I will become.

 

Then fate came to the rescue of a confused young mind.

Firstly got an opportunity to tow the accounting line but tried as I might, I Just couldn’t get the hang of it and I rightly swerved into the engineering line after a month of so struggling with book-keeping.

Graduating as an electrical electronics technologist, the first available job that came my way after NYSC was… teaching!

Long after I had forgotten that childhood dream.

Taught junior class for three hellish months and couldn’t get away fast enough from it all.

Fate to the rescue again as I secured a better paying job as an electrical engineering technologist. Oh bliss.

Totally forgotten my love for the white-clad profession….but then fate again intervened…and I got married to a medical doctor who is busy trying to save the world right now, one life at a time.

And I am still a teacher, will forever be. Running after two young ones all day long, instructing on what’s right and wrong, tackling endless questions and home-works.

And I am forever a writer, preserving my thoughts in the eternal ink of time. Inscribed in space to float until eternity.

Yes, I am living the dream. Neither far nor close. But closer than breath.

What would I say to my 10year old self, today?

It doesn’t have to be one or two or three dreams…you can be all of them at the same time or at different times, just take it slow and keep it real.

Who says I cannot be all I wanted to be or all I dream t of becoming? Who says I could only be one thing at a time?

I ask me now…does it really matter what I wanted to be when I grew up seeing as I am forever growing and the home stretch is still decades away?

And does it matter how near or how far to those carefully crafted dreams I am?

To my growing self,It matters less how far away or how near…the icing is in being giddy with happiness off-course, midway or wherever I am on the journey…savoring the joy of the endless possibilities stretched out before me.

Want to read more on Future Past? Check http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/futures-past/

Leave a Reply

